Dragon Ball Evolution schrijver biedt excuses aan

Ben Ramsey, de schrijver achter Dragon Ball Evolution, biedt zijn excuses aan voor zijn bijdrage aan het geflopte project. De scenarist had het volgende te vertellen:

“I knew that it would eventually come down to this one day. Dragonball Evolution marked a very painful creative point in my life. To have something with my name on it as the writer be so globally reviled is gut wrenching. To receive hate mail fromall over the world is heartbreaking. I spent so many years trying to deflect the blame, but at the end of the day it all comes down to the written word on page and I take full responsibility for what was such a disappointment to so many fans. I did the best I could, but at the end of the day, I ‘dropped the dragon ball.’

I went into the project chasing after a big payday, not as a fan of the franchise but as a businessman taking on an assignment. I have learned that when you go into a creative endeavor without passion you come out with sub-optimal results, and sometimes flat out garbage. So I’m not blaming anyone for Dragonball but myself. As a fanboy of other series, I know what it’s like to have something you love and anticipate be so disappointing. To all the Dragon Ball fans out there, I sincerely apologize. I hope I can make it up to you by creating something really cool and entertaining that you will like and that is also something I am passionate about. That’s the only work I do now.”

Dragon Ball Evolution was een live-action verfilming van de populaire animeserie Dragon Ball, maar werd echter niet erg gewaardeerd. Zowel fans als critici waren er niet erg over te spreken.

Het verhaal gaat over de avonturen van het hoofdpersonage Son Goku. Er werd aan de film begonnen in 2002, maar vanwege complicaties met scriptschrijvers en contracten werden de rechten in de koelkast gestopt. De film is geregisseerd door James Wong en geproduceerd door Stephen Chow.

De cast bestaat uit namen als Justin Chatwin, James Marsters, Emmy Rossum, Jamie Chung, Joon Park, Eriko Tamura, Randall Duk Kim, Chow Yun-Fat.